Sneek peak: Birds on the Edge

    

    

After much trial and error, I finally have my first version of my ‘Birds on the Edge’ series to debut!

These mini pots have been created with ceramic clay, recycled glass and flameworked glass. It’s long been of goal of mine to combine these media, and I’m quite pleased with the results.

The pots are designed to be ring and earring holders, but would work equally well to hold  any small item of value, or simply to pretty up a bare spot in your home.

Finishing up the pictorial documentation from a previous post, here are the last few pics of my process:

Pots ready for glaze firing

Pots after glaze firing

I’m still doing some experimenting on the best combination of glazes and glasses to use in the pots to achieve the look of water I am after. I’ve narrowed my combinations down to a few and I’ve starting firing round 2 today.

I’m also nailing down my best methods and materials for attaching the birds and brass finding to the pots. Hopes are high that this next batch goes perfectly and that I will soon have Birds on the Edge to offer for sale. Wish me luck!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary C. Nasser
    Feb 21, 2012 @ 01:40:43

    Wow! Absolutely gorgeous!!
    Especially love your bird piece on the lower left. 🙂 But that may be because blue is my favorite color. 🙂

    So nice to meet you through Etsy’s Blogging Buddies Team.
    I am your newest blog follower! 🙂

    All the best,
    Mary
    Mixed-Media Map Art

    Reply

    • elise thomas
      Feb 21, 2012 @ 02:14:42

      Hi Mary,

      Thanks for your kind comments and for visiting my blog 🙂 Thanks for the feedback too, it’s great to hear what pieces people most respond too!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

