The BIG and the small

With the studio remodel about wrapped up, I am back in business, so I thought I’d share some new work. After months of making birds beads of about the same size, with the same size bead holes, I branched out a bit in the past couple of weeks.

First, due to a bit of serendipitous disorganization, my Pandora style big hole beads were born. You may remember these from last week’s sneek peek:

bird Trollbeads

Lampwork birds beads for European charm bracelets.

The ‘story behind the beads’ is this: In my unpacking of the lampwork studio, I somehow misplaced the bead release. Unable to find it to re-dip my usual size mandrels, I went with the already coated Big Hole Bead mandrels. The result? Close to a dozen Big Hole Bird beads, perfectly sized to fit Pandora, Troll and all other European charm/ interchangeable bead bracelets. yay!

Continuing in this vein, although not as a result of misplaced bead release, I created a series of bird beads on 3/32″ size mandrels. As my usual birdies are on 1/8″ size mandrels, these birdies have significantly smaller holes. In addition, I did these birdies, which I call ‘minis’, at about 2/3 the size of the usual beads. They average 24mm on their longest dimension, while the norm is around 36mm.  These smaller birdies offer some new and different possibilities to designers with the added advantage of a smaller bead hole for easier stringing. Enjoy!

Mini lampwork bird bead

Mini Purple Jay

Blue lampwork bird bead

Mini Aqua Jay

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. laurelsusanstudio
    Mar 26, 2012 @ 16:50:44

    These a gorgeous! LOVE them!

    Reply

  2. elise thomas
    Mar 27, 2012 @ 14:47:25

    Thanks so much 🙂

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Capturing the Imagination | Through Fire and Flame

Leave a Reply

