Garden birds

Although I have made many types of lampwork glass beads, the main reason I continue making birds is their versatility. In a discussion last week with some fellow artisans, the topic of garden art came up. Of course, this inspired me to try some birds for the garden 🙂

Glass garden art

To create these Garden bird stakes, I make a bird as usual on a steel mandrel, with two changes in technique. First, I used no bead release, which is normally used to coat the mandrel so that the bead can be removed. Second, I made the bead at the top of the mandrel, so that the bead sits atop the mandrel, with no hole on the top of the bird.

 

Glass Garden art

After the birds came out of the kiln annealing cycle, I further decorated the mandrel with colored artistic wire. On one, I added a copper disc in the middle, while on the other, I had already added a glass disc when creating the bird.

Birds garden art

These would make great Easter or Mother’s Day gifts and I imagine the ways to make them are endless. This could certainly be done starting with a bird beads that is not attached to a mandrel, as well. I think I’ll keep playing with the concept and if you have any ideas, I’d love to hear them as well!

handmade glass garden art

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nonnie Rose
    Apr 01, 2012 @ 23:48:50

    These are beautiful!

    Reply

  2. Eileen
    Apr 02, 2012 @ 03:12:39

    This is a great idea for what to do with the less than perfect mandrels after hey’ve been used a while!

    Reply

  3. scarletleonard
    May 23, 2012 @ 17:47:38

    These are just too cute and indeed a fantastic way of utilising those old mandrels and making them into something wonderful. (though those birdies would also make super cute earrings.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

